“But they delight in the law of the Lord, meditating on it day and night.  They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season.  Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do.”  Psalm 1:2-3

Flowers.  I admit, I’m a sucker for them.  (This is Sarah, by the way. *smile*) In fact, my wonderful husband surprised me with two dozen beautiful red and pink roses one week ago on our anniversary. I truthfully love all flowers and would have a house full of freshly cut flowers all the time, had I the budget for them.  I look with envy at the yards of those who have beautiful flower gardens full of a rainbow of foliage that they get to gaze upon daily.  Of course, you’re probably thinking that I should just grow my own flowers, then I’d have them at my disposal at all times. And, I would have to agree. There’s just one problem. I stink at taking care of plants and flowers. It’s true.  You see, keeping flowers alive and looking beautiful takes work. They have to be watered often and then as they grow, they require pruning and shaping to really rise to their potential.  Even the roses my husband gave me have required some work.  Sure, I could have just thrown them in some water and walked away but any lover of flowers knows that if you want them to last more than a day once they’re cut, you have to give them some attention.  Mainly, you have to clip their stems periodically so that the water and nutrients can flow up the stem to the flower.  In the past, when I’ve done this every few days, my flowers have lasted more than two weeks in a vase! However, I have to admit that I wasn’t as vigilant with these flowers because I got sick and wasn’t able to give them the care they needed. And as I sat at the table for dinner tonight, I took the first good look at them that I have since I put them in the vase last Friday night and was sad to note that my once beautiful flowers are now drooping, drawn up, and dried out.  Not an attractive centerpiece, believe me!  And then it hit me….is this how I look spiritually when I neglect my time with the Lord and my time in His Word?  The above verses in Psalms state that when we meditate on the word/law of the Lord daily, we are like trees planted near water, meaning that we have an endless supply of all we need to grow and bear fruit.  If the literal tree were to sprout legs and move away from that stream, would he be able to live up to his potential and purpose? Most likely not.  Similarly, when I choose to not take time out of my day to focus completely on the Lord, I’m ultimately doing myself harm and cutting off the available flow of lifegiving “water” (ie: peace, faith, hope, joy, wisdom and everything else the Lord has for me) and it makes sense that I would become dry, hardened, limp, and useless.

Another thing that affects the growth of flowers is pruning.  If neglected, flower bushes can become a tangled, wiry mess; but, when their caretaker performs the appropriate pruning, bushes grow fuller and the flowers aren’t hidden in a mess of stems and leaves.  Now, I imagine that if flower bushes could feel pain and talk, they would express great dislike of the pruning process and, I wouldn’t blame them.  Because you see, I’ve been pruned, and am continually being pruned, by my Heavenly Caretaker and yes, it’s usually quite uncomfortable and often painful.  Someone I consider a friend turns against me and starts spreading lies about me but the Godly response is to keep my mouth shut though my flesh wants to defend myself. Clip! Though for the majority of my life I have considered myself exceptionally healthy, I’m surprisingly diagnosed with a condition that though not life-threatening, causes great aggravation and instead of blaming and questioning, I am to respond and stand in faith that my God has a reason and that He can heal. Snip! I’m tired and worn out and have a million things to do when the phone rings and it’s a friend needing some of my time.  My flesh wants to ignore the phone and tell her how busy I am and that I’ll have to call her back but the Holy Spirit lets me know the choice is up to me to be selfish or to be a light and help to a friend.  Cut!  Pruning!!

Everyday, we’re given opportunities to grow and mature into the beings that God created us to be and it would be nice if we could just go to bed and wake up in the morning having “arrived” without any inconveniences, discomfort, or hard choices.  But that’s just not how it works and once I accept that truth, then I must realize that it’s up to me whether I want to cut off my life-flow and become hardened and dried up or do what it takes to be healthy, beautiful, and useful to this world.